Wednesday, July 20, 2016

Character Attributes

Character Attributes in Rhunador:

Strength, Intelligence, Wisdom, Endurance, Comeliness, Charisma, Dexterity, Lust, Greed, Temper, Will.

Players roll d5 for each. (D6, Ignore 6's). Score  1-5 in each Attribute, adjust for Zodiac. (d12 to determine month born and star sign).

The score of each attribute, minus 1, is added directly to a player's d20 roll when attempting to use a skill related to the attribute in question. So a score of 1 in an attribute confers no bonus, a score of 2 adds 1, 3 adds 2, 4 adds 3, and 5 adds 4. Where one or more attributes pertain to a skill, average. Attribute scores are also added in this same manner directly to d20 roll for Raw Attribute Checks ( non skill based feats )and Saving Throws.

In addition:

STR: is added to melee weapon damage or half, rounded down for hand to hand.

INT: is added to spell casting rolls.

WIS: is added to appeals for Divine favor and miracles.




DEX: is added to all weapon attacks and also deducted from the attack rolls of enemy combatants.

WIL: added directly to spell casting rolls.

LST: is added to the Difficulty Rating of lust related Temptations.

GRD: is added to the D.R. of greed related temptations.

TMP: is added to the D.R. of anger related tempations. TMP of 5 makes a character subject to Beserker Rage.

Other Character Factors:

Character Vitality: Basically the "hit points" of a character. STR+END+d6. With each level gain, a d6 is rolled and added. When Vitality reaches zero, death occurs.

Mana: Spiritual vitality of a character. WIS+WILL+Zodiac Modifier, +d6. Taken by spell casting and also when attacked by magic. Some supernatural creatures such as spirits, demons and ghosts attack Mana directly. When Mana reaches zero, death can result, and if taken by a spiritual creature, the character may become undead.

Social Class: Roll d20. Under 20: Roll again, ignore any result on the social class spectrum above 14. If a 20 is rolled, roll again  and ignore any result below 10. Then roll d4 for: 1) Landowning and Warrior Class, 2) Clergy 3) Townsfolk 4) Rural Dweller. Result shows parentage of character.

1-4: Slave

5: UNFREE Townsfolk=Recently escaped serf, Rural=Waste Dweller, Outlaw.

6: FREE POOR Townsolk:Beggar, whore,Rural: Bordar.

7: Outlawed soldier, Common Serf, Thief, Cottar.

8:Conscripted Peasant, Lay Brother (serf), Unemployed Towndweller, Poor Villien.

9: Conscripted Peasant, militia, POW, Lay Brother (serf), Servant, Rich Villien.

10: Mercenaries, Bowmen/ Lay Brother, free/ Employed Laborer, Sokeman.

11: Man-at-arms, basic soldier/Lay Brother free/Guild Journeyman, Employed Labor/Sokeman

12: Sergeant, Mercenary, NCO/Poor priest, friar


Infamy/Renown: Raised when awarded a point by the DM and added to social class. Start at 0. When called for (meeting new people, in inns and tavers, at court, etc.) DM rolls a D20. If his roll is at or under this score, the character's reputation is known.

Starting Wealth:Determined by Social Class.

Skills: Skills are chosen from the Skill List. Beginning Skills depend upon Social Class, the applicable attribute, and racial background. Upon level gain, Personal Experience Points (and wealth) may be used to choose new skills if the desired training/education can be found. Skills go by ranking, and a rank in a skill is worth 1 point which is added directly to the character's d20 roll against the D.R. when using that skill.